A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

a-crown-of-wishes-cover-image

***I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 5/5

SYNOPSIS: Princess Guari is a prisoner of Prince Vikram’s  country, but when Vikram wins the opportunity to compete in a magical competition for the chance of receiving a wish, he arranges to have her freed in exchange for her being his partner. The duo make an unlikely pair and find a common ground between them, but as their journey brings them together, will the competition tear them apart?

PREVIOUS: The Star-Touched Queen 

 

I am so happy that I was given the opportunity to read this book. I absolutely adored The Star-Touched Queen as I’m sure you all remember well and I’m pleased to say I loved this one just as much! I was a little worried that Guari and Vikram would remind me of Maya and Amar, but I shouldn’t have because they had a completely different dynamic, chemisty, and their personalitities could not be any more different. I am a sucker for banter and Vikram and Guari’s was amazing! I was laughing so hard on multiple occasions. The dynamic between the two characters was so amazing to see develop because they had such different upbringings and such different personalities you could clearly see that both of them analyzed situations differently and actively had to compromise with each other and place a lot of trust on the other person which created some beautiful moments of vulnerability on the parts of both characters. I just adore the way Chokshi writes. Every word is dripping with magic and beauty and if I could live inside her words I would. She has created two vivid and wonderful characters and given them a supporting cast and world that is equally as vivid and wonderful. I especially love the moment when Guari and Maya are reunited briefly because it was such a tender, sisterly moment, but it also helped to tie the two books together and really cement just how important these sisters are to each other. I loved that it wasn’t too much and that it didn’t take away from Guari’s own journey and story. I also really enjoyed that we get to explore both Guari and Vikram’s point of view because it really helped to understand why both of them needed the wish and I just love being able to see people becoming closer through multiple POVs. Overall A Crown of Wishes is an amazing and beautiful book and I am so excited to read more from Roshani Chokshi!

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for allowing me to read this book! Get your copy here.

Let's Discuss!

