Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

20161202_214718

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: Mirabella, Katherine, and Arsinoe are triplet queens with special abilities. During their sixteenth year they will use their abilities to kill the others because only one can be the true queen. Mirabella is a skilled elementalist, but her sisters show no skill in their fields of poison and naturalism. With the whole country backing Mirabella, Katherine, Arsinoe, and their allies must work hard to keep themselves alive, but does Mirabella even want to be queen?

 

This book was a lot slower than I was expecting and I guessed the plot twist, but I still found myself enjoying it! I loved each sister’s distinct personality and I loved their allies even more. The writing style was interesting to me because it felt like the action was unfolding in front of me and I was actually in the story rather than being told a story that had already happened. The world is also interesting and I want to know more about it. magic exists on the island and nonmagical people exist on a different land, but the two never meet but once every so often. I want to know more about the nonmagical land because it feels so much like our world and I want to know more about this land of queens because it feels so ancient and mythical like stories have been told about it here for centuries. As I kept reading I found myself wanting more and more! I also liked that every character had consequences for their actions and the anger/hurt between characters didn’t drag out for too long while also not being resolved too easily. One complaint I did have was that Arisnoe’s chapters were hardly ever about Arsinoe and instead were about her best friend and protector, Jules. While I did love their relationship and Jules is a very interesting character that I’m interested in seeing develop further in the next book, I wanted more from Arsinoe especially since her sisters very rarely shared page time with other characters. My second complaint is that the relationship between Mirabella and Joseph felt random and forced. I’m interested to see how it all plays out in the end and I understand that it is a result of Arisnoe’s actions, but it isn’t very clear and the writing doesn’t make it clear what the attraction is whether it is just attraction or something more. I feel like I need more information to accept it. Katherine is really the only character I didn’t have any problems logicwise or storywise with in her chapters and the way her arc ends in this book leaves me very excited for the next one. It does end on a cliffhanger (with a plot twist that I saw coming), but the twist has me excited for what is to come. I think Blake has set herself up very nicely for an explosive sequel and if the sequel goes well I think it’ll make this long setup worth it!

Let's Discuss!

