Flashfall by Jenny Moyer

27414369

***I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: Cirium is an element that the world desperately needs to survive in their radioactive wasteland and Subpars (people who’ve adapted to survive the radiation longer) like Orion are the only ones that can mine it. With the promise of reaching safety if they collect 400 grams of the element, Orion and her friends and family work tirelessly to achieve the dream, but nobody has ever gotten that much cirium before and when Orion, her best friend, Dram, and others finally reach the mark truths about their way of life come out and it turns into a desperate race for survival.

 

I honestly wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did because the last few dystopic science fiction novels I’ve read were a little disappointing. Flashfall sucked me in right away and would not let me go! I appreciated that I didn’t get a giant world-building info dump in the very first chapter like a lot of authors do when they’re introducing the world through first-person narrative. Orion gives us all the information we need when we need it. One of my favorite things about the book was Orion’s relationship with Dram. You get to see them work together as a team for the vast majority of the book and I also like that Moyer built up their friendship before making them a couple. Yes we find out Orion is attracted to Dram in the first few pages, but it is never in a distracting way where it’s the only thing she’s thinking about. Although I did feel like the moment where it is revealed Dram likes her back came a little out of nowhere and happened really fast, I appreciated that their blooming relationship didn’t take precedent over the plot and what they needed to do to survive their world. I also loved how Orion interacted with all the other people of her society even if the connections never got as fleshed out or as deeply explored like her relationship with Dram. Honestly the world is interesting and all the twists brought forward propel the action forward and I sincerely hope there’s going to be a sequel! My only complaint is that Moyer sacrifices character development for plot movement. The pace is relentless so it feels like everything is happening all at once and there were multiple times where I had to go back and reread sections because I thought I missed something. I would’ve liked to live in the world a little bit or whatever circumstances Orion landed herself in before moving on to the next problem. I also thought that the secondary characters weren’t given much of an opportunity to be fully fleshed characters. They did have moments where we learned things about them, but to me it felt like a lot of them were their to die for Orion and Dram to survive. However this book is action packed and all the problems are things that are easily fixed (and hopefully will be fixed) in a second book. I’m eager to see what happens next!

Thanks Macmillan for allowing me to read this book! Buy it here!

 

One thought on “Flashfall by Jenny Moyer

Let's Discuss!

