P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20161004_111702

RATING: 4.5/5

SYNOPSIS: Laura Jean and Peter’s relationship is for real this time, but when a private intimate moment is shared on the internet by an unknown person their relationship is put to the test. Laura Jean has a lot to learn about life, love, and trust and with the help of the people who love her she might be able to figure it all out.

PREVIOUS: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

 

I love Laura Jean as a character and I love the growth that she has gone through from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before to the end of P.S. I Still Love You. That being said I didn’t love this book as much as I loved the first one. I think the main reason is that Laura Jean felt more internal than she did in the previous one. In To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, Laura Jean was pushed out of her comfort zone by Peter and their interactions were the absolute sweetest. There wasn’t enough of those moments for me in this book and I felt like Laura Jean stayed in her comfort zone for the majority of the book, but that might just have been a consequence of having a private moment blasted for the world to see. I also didn’t like Genevieve’s motivation for antagonizing Laura Jean. It felt very two-dimensional and while it was realistic, if a little petty, I didn’t like that there wasn’t much fallout from the revelation and nothing really came of the revelation. Those are really the only reasons why I couldn’t give this book a full 5/5. As always I loved Laura Jean and her relationship with her family. I love that her sisters fight like sisters, but also love each other the only way sisters can and I love that all the drama between Margot and Laura Jean was resolved quickly. I still love the way Peter treats Kitty. It really warms my heart and I would love more Peter/Kitty moments. I also loved John Ambrose McClaren and I feel like if he was the boy introduced first instead of Peter I would’ve loved him more, but because I came to love Peter and all of his flaws, John Ambrose McClaren felt too perfect. I wanted him to have flaws, but he is literally an all around 100% perfect sweet guy and he also treated Kitty sweetly and he dressed up for Laura Jean! He is so perfect that I was suspicious of him for such a long time. I’m glad we got to meet him, but at the same time I wanted this book to be more about Laura Jean and Peter (however this is Laura Jean’s coming of age story and it was brilliant in that aspect). Jenny Han did a great job in showing Laura Jean grow up as well as showing how people can drift apart as they get older. What Laura Jean goes through (aside from the “scandal”) is something that everyone can relate to and honestly even though the plot wasn’t everything I wanted it to be the characters more than make up for it. I love Laura Jean, I love Peter (even though I wish we had more of his sweet moments and more of him in general), I love the Song-Covey family, I love John Ambrose McClaren, and I love the friends that always have Laura Jean’s back and best interest at heart. All of them are so unique and have such different outlooks to life and I love how all of them affect how Laura Jean sees the world and push her to better herself. Laura Jean does a lot of growing which is why it’s so internal, but it is a lot of important growth and I’m so glad I decided to read this series. I’m also so happy that there’s going to be a third book because that ending did  not give me enough closure. Here’s hoping that Love Always, Laura Jean is just as good as its predecessors and gives me that imperfect storybook ending!

Let's Discuss!

