Fantastic Friday (#53)

Happy Friday! I hope everyone has been having a nice week!

This Friday I’m sharing the Dear America book series!

IMG_8388

These books were some of my ultimate favorites in elementary and middle school. I’d always check them out from my school library and the public library. I even was part of the book club where they’d send you a book and an activity every month. Looking back I realize how important these books were to me because they covered every topic imaginable in all of history and told through many lenses. I love that there are stories by young WOC and that they never strayed from the harsher topics. I never knew about the boarding school Native American children were sent to in order to force assimilation until I read a Dear America book about it and while I’m not 100% sure it was a Dear America book, I know I didn’t know about the Japanese interment during WWII until I read it in a fiction book. If you’re a big history fan or have a big history fan in your life and you don’t know about these books, check them out!

Let's Discuss!

