Fantastic Friday (#52)

Happy Friday! I hope your week has been nice.

Today I’m sharing the play Summer and Smoke by Tennessee Williams.

IMG_8382

Of all the Tennessee Williams plays that I’ve read, this is my all-time favorite! The lead characters are the perfect opposites and Williams’s stage directions and writing are simply divine. While reading Cat on a Hot Tin Roof and A Streetcar Named Desire I could see why Williams is considered to be one of the great American playwrights, but when I read Summer and Smoke I could really feel it. I know plays are meant to be watched and that it’s missing a key element until actors take over, but the job of a script is to tell a story and Williams tells a great one.

Let's Discuss!

