The Graces by Laure Eve

6044d91eac8c8c3760f8943e6bdcc05a

***I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for a honest review***

RATING: 3.5/5

SYNOPSIS: River is the new girl at school and has set her sights on the Graces, the wealthiest and most attractive family in the whole town, but River has a secret and so do the Graces. As they become ingrained in each others’ lives, these secrets can make or break them, but some secrets need to be said and some secrets leave lasting damage.

 

I went back and forth for a while after I finished reading trying to decide what exactly I thought about this book. As far as a plot, there isn’t one until the last quarter of the book and the direction it heads in is absolutely fascinating. I liked how all the secrets came together even if it’s fairly easy to figure out what the secrets are. This book felt like a set-up book. All the information feels like something you’ll need for an even larger story that is yet to come and I hope there is another one because I’m intrigued as to what River is going to do next. I liked watching River interact with the different Graces because she had different ways of interacting with each one to get her to like them and the self-awareness of River is fascinating because she knows exactly what she’s doing at all times and for the most part knows how others will react to her actions which is something I haven’t really seen in a character before which makes what happens to her in the end even more of a blind side because she’s so careful of how she presents herself. One problem that I do have though is that while River is best friends with Summer Grace and we get to see the many sides of Summer, we don’t get that same inside look at her siblings, Fenrin and Thalia. They are the most unknown of the Grace siblings and while River does interact more with Fenrin than she does with Thalia, a lot of her Fenrin conversations feel circular and about the same type of conversation over and over again with different phrasings. I was most interested in the older Graces because a lot of the town superstitions stemmed from them and I also wanted the superstitions to be dealt with more. I wanted inside jokes, but I did like that the whole point of the going nowhere superstitions drove home the point of how you don’t truly know people until they let you know them. The only other complaint I have is that it is very hard to pin down where this book is set other than a beach town. I wanted a little more specificity because I was having a hard time picturing it in my head. Although this book wasn’t what I expected, it is intriguing and I like how unreliable and out-of-touch River can be. With an ending like the one this ends with I hope there’s a next one because I want to know what River will do next!

Thanks Amulet Books for allowing me to read this book! Get your copy here!

Let's Discuss!

