Watcha Reading Wednesday (#49)

Happy Wednesday! I hope your week has been lovely so far!

This Wednesday I’m reading a collection of Northern Tales compiled by Howard Norman.

20160831_101229

I’m really excited to read these tales, but in the ones I’ve read so far I feel like there is something lost in translation. Like a lot of Native American stories, these Inuit tales were told verbally and passed down that way. You can see it in the repetition of key descriptions and phrases, but you in the writing I’m missing the story building that you can hear in a person’s voice. I’m enjoying tales I’ve never heard of before and it’ll be interesting to see what major themes play out over the course of the book.

What are you guys reading? Let me know in the comments!

Let's Discuss!

