Every You, Every Me by David Levithan

20160704_154033

RATING: 3/5

SYNOPSIS:ย After his best friend was taken away, Evan has had a hard time moving on and letting go and it would appear that someone else is too. Evan keeps finding mysterious photographs of himself and his friend, Ariel, before and during the breakdown that caused her to leave. Evan becomes obsessed with who’s doing this and has to either let it go or let it fester.

 

While I did like the unique way Levithan told the story, overall I found this book to be very dull. I felt like I was in the dark for too many things and I was never sure what any of the other people had to do with the story. Rather than feeling intrigued and wanting to push forward, I was just very confused and whenever I thought I had a grasp of what was going on, something would just confuse me in the end. Even when I got to the end I was still very confused as to what happened to Ariel and where she is. I also wish that the mystery person that was leaving the pictures was someone that Evan knew rather than some stranger because it would’ve made the reveal more dramatic to me and it would’ve held more weight rather than feeling so random. At the very least the mystery girl should’ve had some cameos throughout the book, so that way her reveal didn’t come out of left field. Or when the reveal finally happened there was a longer conversation and we knew just how she knew Ariel and why it was all a secret. I get that this book deals with how you can never truly know someone, but I wanted to see the Ariel that this other person knew. I enjoyed that Evan was struggling to find his place in this world without his best friend and that he has people that try to help him. I liked that by the end this weird scavenger hunt lead him toward a road where he can start to get better. Although the use of photography and the way Levithan would cross out lines to make knew meanings was unique and interesting, I felt like there was something missing in the plot and character elements so I had a hard time thoroughly enjoying this book.

Let's Discuss!

