The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

**I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review**

RATING: 5/5

SYNOPSIS:Β Maya was born with a horoscope that foretold death and destruction when she married. Just before she is forced to marry for “peace” she is whisked away from this world by Amar, a strange man who seems so familiar to her. As Maya explores her new home secrets about her past, future, and horoscope come to light and Maya has to unravel them all to become who she was meant to be.

 

I’m going to attempt to convey how amazed and how enchanted this book made me feel, but trust me this book is perfection. The writing just wraps itself around you and pulls you deeper and deeper into this magical world. I was spellbound from the first page and I most certainly didn’t want to put it down to go to sleep at night. I love how Chokshi takes a familiar tale (the myth of Hades and Persephone) and adds her own spin and culture to it. I noticed some elements of Eros and Psyche to the story as well which I loved. I think what really makes this story great is that it relies on Indian Folklore and mythical creatures which I don’t know a whole lot about and am excited to learn more! Maya is such an interesting character because she is so intelligent and thoughtful, but that is also her greatest weakness. All the problems that happen in her life occur because she overthought and deduced things on her own rather than asking others. She is observant, but there are times when she only sees what she wants to see. This is a result of her being practically isolated her whole life and I loved watching her learn to trust others and see things from all angles. Amar is such a great love interest. He says all the right things (and actually means them) and there is never a doubt (at least in my mind) that he loves Maya with every fiber of his being. I loved that he was never afraid to show her that he loved her (even when she didn’t believe him) and there was no macho-man, kingly posturing like you would expect. He respects Maya utterly and although he does make a ton of mistakes in regards of how he handles situations, I do love that he always emphasizes that he and Maya are equals in every sense of the word. Even the minor characters are great and learn a lot. Kamala is only in half the book and she goes through believable change. Her friendship with Maya is great and entertaining, providing much needed comic relief while still maintaining this enchanted world. Sibling relationships always get me and Maya and Gauri’s relationship is wonderful to behold. I love how they support each other and are there when the other needs her most. Honestly I can go on and on gushing about the many wonderful qualities of this book, so do yourself a favor and read it because of the wonderful writing, Maya, and Amar. I promise you won’t regret it.

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for allowing me to read this amazing book! Buy it here!

Let's Discuss!

