Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

27793667

***I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 3/5

SYNOPSIS: In 1995, Amy Stevenson went missing for a few days and was later found beaten and near death in a ditch. Fifteen years later, she is in a vegetative state and can’t communicate. While working on an article, Alex Dale meets Amy and decides to solve Amy’s case to bring closure to her and the people that were affected by her tragedy.

 

This book is extremely well written and has a good pace throughout, but I found myself not fully caring about the characters. I cared about Amy and I loved her chapters, but I found myself getting annoyed during Alex’s chapters and sometimes I didn’t care during Jacob’s chapters. Amy felt realistic to me and there were times that Alex and Jacob’s problems felt a little overdramatic. I also thought that Alex’s problems didn’t really have a place in the story and that her story sounded like to belonged in a different book. I liked how she connected with Amy and that their “relationship” was mutually beneficial, but at the same time Alex felt like she didn’t belong in this world with these people’s problems. I think if Jacob was the one investigating then all of his problems would’ve felt less ridiculous and his wife’s reactions would’ve been justified better. I wish that we knew more about Amy’s secret boyfriend during her POV chapters because I think the more we knew about this man the more scary he would become. I also wish that Amy’s attacker was a character that we got to know personally because maybe then I wouldn’t have figured it out near the beginning and have been shocked at the reveal.  Although there were times when I thought things were ridiculous, I did feel compelled to keep reading at the end of each chapter. It was interesting to see how Amy’s attack affected the people around her and I really enjoyed seeing the pain and the questions that were still in the minds of the people that loved her most. I think that everything revolving around Amy was well done and interesting, it’s just chapters that involved the personal lives of some of the characters where things felt a little derailed and I lost some interest.

Thanks Ballantine Books for allowing me to read this! Buy your copy here!

Let's Discuss!

