The Keep It Fresh Award

newwidget

Thanks ablessedbrownie for tagging me!

RULES:

  • Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  • Part A: Answer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  • Part B: Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  • Part C: Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  • Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  • Notify your nominees of the nomination (nom nom nom ~ :D)
  • The most important rules? HAVE FUN and of course, KEEP IT FRESH!

PART A: FRUIT QUESTIONS

  1. Strawberries: Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)
  2. Coconut: What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)
  3. Pineapple: What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?
  4. Orange: What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)
  5. Watermelon: A watery book (e.g. There wasn’t tons of substance to the book/the details were just too watery…etc. Don’t get us wrong though, we love watermelons!)
  6. Dragonfruit: What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)
  7. Lemons: Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)
  8. Tomato: What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)
  9. Apple: Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)
  10. Blueberries: Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)
  11. Grapefruit: Any bitter books? (e.g. a book that was blue but MORE… do you have any bitter resentments towards characters from a book? Any sour turned bitter emotions? Any uber hateful villains?)
  12. Jackfruit: Name the most physically heavy book that you’ve ever read. (Because jackfruits are pretty heavy fruits!)
  13. Limes: Name a funny book that you’ve read because limes add flavour and so does humour with every book.

PART B: FAVOURITE FRUIT

Choose your favourite fruit and then choose a book that would correspond the best and if your fruit is already taken on our list, make up your own question and answer it.

PART C: FRUIT SMOOTHIES

Finally, choose a book that was a mix of some of these fruits to make your own smoothie. (e.g. A strawberry blueberry lemon smoothie would correlate to a sweet and sad but sour book.)

PART A ANSWERS

1. Strawberries

The sweetest books that I have read would have to be Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall. It is so cute and fluffy that I couldn’t help but smile as I read it!

2. Coconut

I don’t really have a book that I would take on vacation or a “beach read,” I usually just bring whatever I’m currently reading with me whenever I go on vacation. So if I were to go somewhere right now I’d be bringing A Darker Shade of Magic with me.

3. Pineapple

I didn’t think that I would like Cinder from reading the summary, it’s just something about the word “cyborg” that really threw me off, and I’m glad I was wrong because I adored it and the books that followed!

4. Orange

The juicest book I’ve read is Winter (which is the last book in The Lunar Chronicles series)! It has everything that you could possibly want in the action and romance departments! It is one of the best endings I have read for a series.

5. Watermelon

I didn’t think books by Rosamunde Pilcher have a ton of substance, but they are enjoyable, light reads that are great if you are in a reading slump or just need to read something to quiet your mind!

6. Dragonfruit

The most unique series that I have ever read would have to be The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. There is just something about it that I have never found in other YA/Urban Fantasy novels and it’s just so special. I can’t say enough about how much I love it.

7. Lemons

A book that made me feel sour would have to be The Elite by Kiera Cass. I loved The Selection, but I hated just about everything in its sequel. The love triangle got to be too much and the characters kept making ridiculous and stupid decisions. I almost didn’t finish the series because of it, but I gave The One a chance and it was much better.

8. Tomato

A wonderful underrated series would be the Princesses of Myth series by Esther Fiesner. It’s a series of duologies about various mythical woman from Helen of Troy to Nefertiti and they are wonderful to read! I love how she brings these known, yet unknown women to life and she chooses the moments of their youth to really make their stories theirs and not the stories we’ve been handed down.

9. Apple

Matched is a typical YA dystopia novel and I didn’t really enjoy it. I thought that the love triangle was forced, but I did like the banned texts element of the story and if I had decided to finish the series I’m sure that would’ve only gotten more interesting.

10. Blueberries

A book that made me feel blue was The Book Thief, but in a good way. The writing is so amazing and so well done that you forget how sad the subject matter is!

11. Grapefruit

There are so many books that I am bitter about having read, but the one that makes me the most bitter is Roses by Leila Meacham. Most of the characters are horrible, whiny brats and I just hated every second of reading it. It made me so made that I don’t know how I made myself finish it!

12. Jackfruit

The heaviest book that I’ve ever read would probably be Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods or Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes because they are lovely hardbacks, with gorgeous illustrations, and are around the same size as a coffee table book.

13. Limes

Any MG book by Rick Riordan is hilarious. I find myself laughing out loud whenever I read them!

PART B FAVORITE FRUIT

My favorite fruit would have to be grapes, so a book that makes me think of grapes would be the Red Queen series. Grapes are sweet and tart and that fits this series perfectly. There are so many amazing moments, but then you are waked with some tartness in the form of betrayal, twists, and bad decision making on the parts of the main characters.

PART C FRUIT SMOOTHIE

I’m going to go with Lime, Lemon, Blueberry, Orange, and Strawberry for my smoothie and I picked these fruits for their colors (and if you’ve read this series then you know where I’m going) and so a book series that is simultaneously funny, sour, sad, juicy, and sweet look at The Darkest Minds! There are quite a few moments of humor, though not a ton, and the only sour thing I can think of is Clancy Gray because I just hate him so much, but Liam Stewart is the absolute sweetest and there are so many juicy and sad moment and I’ve only read the first two books! The colors go with whatever Psi power the characters have, but seriously you should check out this series!

This was a lot of fun and way harder than I thought it would be!

I Nominate:

Mapping Souls With Words

Michelle, Books and Movies Addict

ForgottenPumpkinPie

A Stranger’s Guide to Novels

Vrushali

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Keep It Fresh Award

Let's Discuss!

