So You Want to Be a Jedi? by Adam Gidwitz

IMG_7833

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: A retelling of The Empire Strikes Back in which YOU get to go on the journey as Luke Skywalker.

PREVIOUS: The Princess, The Scoundrel, and The Farm Boy

 

I should have expected something wildly different from the A New Hope retelling because Adam Gidwitz is a different writer than Alexandra Bracken, but for some reason I didn’t. I wasn’t sure if I was going to enjoy this book as much because I didn’t get that magical feeling that I get when I watched the movie and I got that feeling when I was reading Bracken’s book. However, as I continued to read I could feel the weight and action of the adventure that Luke, Han, and Leia undertake which I think is just as good a feeling to take away. It was a bold choice to tell most of the story in second person, allowing you to be Luke Skywalker and I think it paid off. I felt like I was living the story rather than being a bystander, but I can see how second person can get annoying. What I really enjoyed were the little Jedi training exercises that appeared at the end of almost every chapter. They were fun little things that I can see little kids clamoring to do and mothers sighing in relief that they’re being quiet and still for once. I think the only things I didn’t really like were skipping over some Han/Leia moments because “they got too mushy” (which seems a little silly to think that children will always find it mushy) and to me it felt like certain things were over explained, but then I remembered that this book is meant to get children interested in Star Wars and not for adults that already know a lot about Star Wars so I got over it. Honestly the reason to read this book is for the fun Jedi training exercises and if you want to be Luke Skywalker. I wish that I got that same magical feeling that I get whenever I watch the films, but this books is great for younger children that you want to introduce to this galaxy far far away.

Let's Discuss!

