The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

IMG_7766

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: The day before her wedding, a queen learns that a sleeping curse on a princess has been spreading throughout the land and she decides to try and break it before it’s too late.

 

The illustrations are so gorgeous and I love that their solely black and white, but occasionally there will be gold to accent the image. I especially loved this unique twist on a fairy tale. I loved that the queen took charge of her own destiny and took it upon herself to accomplish a task that so many others had failed at. I also enjoyed the subtle hints at the identity of the queen since nobody is given any names. The heart of this tale is that of a young woman who isn’t ready to give up the possibility of something more, so there is absolutely no romance whatsoever. I loved how in tune with her circumstances the queen was, but rather than choosing duty over herself she takes the time to let herself come first for once. There is also a really fun twist when she finally reaches the sleeping princess that helped to increase the originality of this tale. As always Neil Gaiman tells this tell beautifully and whimsically and I appreciated the notion that a princess or a queen can save the day, not just a prince. Although there are so many wonderful aspects to this book, there was just a tiny thing missing for me. Whenever a read a fairy tale inspired/styled book I have a profound feeling of enchantment and whimsy when I have closed the book and I didn’t have that feeling when I finished this story. Maybe it’s because the queen’s story didn’t feel finished or maybe it’s for another reason I can’t identify. That’s really the only reason why I can’t give it a 5/5. I hope the queen’s adventures continue in writing because I would love to read them, but for now I’ll be content with the beginning of her decision for adventure. If you’re looking for a unique fairy tale with a nice plot twist then I highly recommend you give this book a try!

Let's Discuss!

