End of the Year Spotlight 2015

PicsArt_12-31-12.25.18

Holy smokes! This year I have read 132 books! Some of them were amazing and others left much to be desired, but overall I discovered some fantastic tales! A lot of people like to share the books that they thought were the best of the year, so I’ve decided to share what I thought was the best out of all the books I’ve read this year. I had a tough time deciding what I thought my personal Top 10 of the year would be, but there are just some books that stand far and above the others.

So without further ado here it is in no particular order:

1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

IMG_7742

I read this book closer to the beginning of the year and it is without a doubt one of the most beautiful books I have ever read! I simply adore Celia and Marco. Everything about this book is scrumptious from the setting to the characters to the actual words. It just oozes with magic! I am disappointed that the summary doesn’t convey the contents accurately, but I hope that others see the beauty once they read it too!

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

IMG_7733

This book is so unique and beautiful. It is a book for people that love words and for people who know just how powerful words can be. Although this is also the saddest book I read this year I can’t get over how beautiful the words are. I love the mixture of outside commentary, the actual story, and the stories within the story because they all come together so well that you forget that each is its own separate entity.

3. The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

IMG_7754

This is another book full of beautiful words. I loved the blending of French and Spanish into the narrative especially at the beginnings of POV changes because it really helped establish just who these characters are and what cultural background they have. It’s such a beautiful romance that is not your typical Romeo and Juliet type story. Although the magical elements aren’t the most prominent, you can see the magic in the way the characters talk and act.

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

IMG_7728

Wow is this series amazing! The characters are all well developed (including the villains) and I feel like I have known them my whole life. The blending of fairy tales and science fiction worked so well and were incorporated in ways that weren’t always obvious. Even though I knew it would end with a happily ever after I was constantly on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next! I have never read a series that continuously gets more and more action packed the way this one does!

I know I’m cheating a little be doing a whole series, but I don’t care and I will do it again! 😉

5. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

IMG_7729

See, told you!

I can go on and on about how unique this series is! I love how it’s something so simple as a quest and we’re all just along for the ride. There is no need to save to world, although there is a need to prevent others from finding Glendower and the other sleepers first and doing who knows what with them. The relationship between Blue and her boys is so fun and complex and there are just so many wonderful relationships explored throughout the first three books. I’m so excited for what The Raven King will bring next year!

6. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

IMG_7752

I wasn’t interested in reading anymore dystopia novels, but I kept seeing people going on and on about how amazing this series is. Obviously I ended up agreeing with those people since I put it on this list 😉 . The characters in this book are so real and loveable (except for the villain I really hate him and can’t wait for Ruby and the gang to take him down) and the relationships forged are all unique in origin and where they end up. Liam Stewart is the greatest Southern gentleman that you could ask for and Ruby undergoes some amazing character growth and this is just the first book! I am so excited to continue the series with Never Fade and hope that the awesomeness continues!

7. The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

IMG_7737

A lot of people were skeptical when Rick Riordan announced that he was going to do a Norse Mythology series, but I wasn’t. I loved Percy Jackson and the Olympians, I loved The Kane Chronicles, and I loved Heroes of Olympus so I figured I would love Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. I was right. Magnus is such a fun character and his team of Samirah, Blitzen, and Hearthstone all bring out the best in him and each other. I especially love that Hearthstone communicates with ASL! I am so excited to see where this journey takes him and to meet and learn about the other Norse gods and their myths!

8. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

IMG_7732

This book was the perfect conclusion to a perfect series. It had everything that you could ask for: action, romance, heartbreak, and a happily ever after. Tessa, Will, and Jem are characters imprinted on my soul and I am so pleased with how their journey came to an end. I loved how everything was resolved and in ways I didn’t fully expect. It’s one of those books that you can’t put down! Although I am sad that Tessa, Will, and Jem’s story is over I am excited to see the continuation in The Dark Artifices and The Last Hours series!

9. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_7755

This is such an action packed adventure! It reads a lot like a thriller/spy/heist movie and all the characters are unique and enjoyable. There are so many good quotes and so many different types of relationships and so much unique and character building backstories that make you think “Oh, that’s why they’re like that!” Even the little nods to the Grisha Trilogy are fun if you know where to look. I cannot wait to see how this ends with Crooked Kingdom!

10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

IMG_7753

This was such an amazing fantasy debut! I was eagerly awaiting what happened next at the end of every chapter and I’m always a sucker for sibling relationships! I love Mare as a character because she is so different from me and I love Cal because he’s similar to me and it also doesn’t hurt that he is a handsome prince! I really enjoyed how Victoria Aveyard took things that are typical in fantasy stories and made them her own. There is such an interesting world and culture that she has established and I can’t wait to learn more about it as the series goes on. I’m excited to see the things that await me when Glass Sword comes out next year!

What were some of your favorite books that you read this year? Let me know in the comments!

Let's Discuss!

