Pop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen

24869805***I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 5/5

SYNOPSIS: Shakespearized versions of popular songs from various decades.

This is the perfect book for any fan of William Shakespeare and pop music! What I really liked the most was that Didriksen provided a large variety of songs to turn into sonnets, so there is sure to be one of your favorites amongst the selection. The introduction to this book is worth reading because it is set up like these sonnets inspired the popular songs that they are based on and I found it to be so clever and funny! I mean imagine Shakespeare writing about a Party Rock Anthem or a Party in the USA! I had a lot of fun reading them out loud and figuring out what lyric corresponded with the line. Some where more straight forward than others, but I liked the ones that weren’t as obvious because that made them feel like they could have been real sonnets written by Shakespeare. One of my personal favorites is the sonnet version of Bon Jovi’s Living on a Prayer. I found all of the songs to be very clever in their categorization and in the use of Elizabethan vocabulary. I also appreciated the little nods to famous lines from Shakespeare sprinkled here and there amongst the songs. There are lots of goodies in terms of song genres and I hope that a volume two is in the works because there are just so many popular songs in the world just begging to be turned into sonnets! I greatly enjoyed the effort that went into making each song match the rhyme scheme of a Shakespearean Sonnet. The only thing I didn’t check was if the syllables and iams matched as well (I’m going to trust Didriksen on this because let me tell you going over a sonnet in that much detail will give you a headache). If you or a friend love Shakespeare then buy this book or even if you’re looking for something funny to read. The cleverness and uniqueness of this book will surely bring you joy!

Thanks Quirk Books for letting me read this book! Buy your copy here!

2 thoughts on “Pop Sonnets by Erik Didriksen

    • It really is! I was excited when I discovered it because I loved reading William Shakespeare’s Star Wars! I can’t imagine how long it took to make sure everything was in iambic pentameter and the rhyme scheme was correct!

      Like

Let's Discuss!

