I Believe in Sherlock Holmes by Douglas G. Greene

51KJ6KVAQwL._AC_UL320_SR208,320_

***I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: A collection of stories and parodies surrounding Sherlock Holmes from the late 1800s to the early 1900s.

This book is perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes. The stories span from Sherlock parodies to stories inspired by him to stories with Sherlock as a cameo appearance. Honestly I think that the weakest story in this collection would be the Mark Twain one and that’s only because it is very long and can get incredibly confusing if you aren’t paying attention. The texts are ordered by year published, so the Mark Twain one is around the middle, but I feel that the length of it throws off the pace of reading the book since most of the stories are short stories rather than novellas. However, I do think that it is cool that even Mark Twain loved Sherlock Holmes and was inspired by the detective stories. One of my favorite things about these stories are the various names that the authors gave to their “Watson” and “Holmes” characters. I actually got disappointed at one point because one author’s name for Sherlock wasn’t as funny as some of the others! It’s really amazing to think about the impact Sherlock Holmes has had on the world because Sir Arthur Conan Doyle hated the stories so much and yet it is the one thing that he is most known for. I also love that even though Holmes was “killed off” other writers decided to continue the stories in their own various ways. Besides the Mark Twain story, I think that the stories were organized nicely because I would finish one and be excited to see what the new author’s take on Holmes and Watson would be (although a lot of them portrayed Watson to be exaggeratedly stupid which made me feel bad for him). I wish that there were even more stories in here because I’m sure that you could find so much more. I think it would be awesome if Greene decided to compile a volume 2, but if that doesn’t happen I think the selection that he as chosen shows a good variety over a long span of time that readers will find interesting and entertaining today!

Thanks Dover Publications for allowing me to read this book! Buy it here!

Let's Discuss!

