September Book Photo Challenge

Day 14 – Didn’t Finish

IMG_7464

4 thoughts on “September Book Photo Challenge

  1. I started reading it because I wanted to give Hemingway a second chance since I hated The Old Man and the Sea. Although I didn’t hate totally actual writing, I did hate the futility of everything and I felt like I wasted my time reading a book where everything that happened that was good just got totally undone in the end. I was also thirteen when I read it so I thought my taste would have changed by now.

    I also am not overly fond of him as a person, but I thought maybe if I read one of his more popular works I would appreciate him as a writer more. Unfortunately I discovered that I just really hate his style of writing. It’s too much telling and not enough showing for my taste. I also was not very fond of how he was writing Catherine (she felt very flat and very much like the type of woman a man who doesn’t understand women would write) although she might have gotten better as the story progressed. I found myself dreading picking up the book to read another page, so I decided to call it. I’m glad that there are people who love him and his writing, but I cannot count myself as one of them.

    I actually borrowed this from my mom. She was in the Florida Keys over the summer and her and my dad went to the Hemingway House and she got it in the gift shop.

    Like

  2. you didn’t like it?

    if i could write like this, it would ease the sting of the fact that maybe only a handful of people ever read what i write:

    “If people bring so much courage to this world the world has to kill them to break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks every one and afterward many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.”

    i like the cover of the copy you have, i haven’t seen this one before.

    -khel-

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Discuss!

