Mount of Hope by Jamie Michele

An adaptation of the novel Young Love by Mrs. Trollope

51rc+QPktpL._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_***I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review***

RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: When her best friend and love, Alfred, is about to marry a deceived woman, Julia seeks to prevent him from making a disgraceful match.

This is an adaptation of a Victorian novel that has long since gone out of print, but it is public domain so if you wish to experience this book in its full google Young Love by Mrs. Trollope and it should be the first link. I also believe it is free for most e-books. That advertisement placed, I thought that Michele did an excellent job in condensing a three volume, 1,000 page book into 25 chapters and 152 pages although I have a feeling that some of the poeticness of the literature got lost along the way. There were some moments where I got confused as to how the actions led up to it and then there were others that I thought went by too fast, but other than that it is wonderful romance full of miscommunication that causes a lot of angst. One of my favorite parts of the book is how we are shown that Alfred loves Julia too, but he doesn’t seem to realize it. I loved how he valued her opinions, trusted her with his problems, and noticed her when nobody else did, although worrying about whether or not he would come to his senses at the end of the novel caused me great angst (the end of Chapter 24 also causes angst). Another favorite moment is the letter Sir William writes to Amelia. It is probably one of the most cold-hearted letters I have ever read in a novel and it literally made my jaw drop! I feel that Michele did a good job in creating language that stays true to how books would have been written originally while at the same time creating a fast moving story that doesn’t get too bogged down. I think that this was a wonderful way to introduce people to lesser known works as well as making people aware of female authors that don’t get to be considered in “the classics”. I hope to be able to read the original story too because I am curious as to what Michele had to cut out in order to make it more accessible. Anyone who enjoys Victorian literature should pick up a copy today!

Thanks Vintage Volumes for letting me read this book! Buy it here!

Let's Discuss!

