City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

IMG_7408

RATING: 5/5

SYNOPSIS: Sebastian’s Dark Shadowhunter army continues to grow and when he kidnaps the people they love, Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, and Alec embark on a journey to end the reign of terror once and for all.

PREVIOUS: City of Lost Souls

Honestly the references/appearances of Tessa, Jem, and Will steal the show for me because I just love them so much and I will try my best not to make this review all about them. That being said, the epilogue is the reason why this book is five out of five and is one of the best and most satisfying endings to a series that I have read in a while. I mean this book had everything from heartbreak to redemption and even though it is over 700 pages long, it reads so fast that I forgot how thick it was! From the prologue to the epilogue this book is a roller-coaster of emotion and action so amazing that I was upset that it had to end. Clare also did a wonderful job in making me change my mind about reading Lady Midnight. The main characters of Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn are introduced in this book and I immediately fell in love with their friendship and fierce love for each other and Julian’s family. Both characters have strong convictions and I think their relationship is going to be interesting to watch develop further in The Dark Artifices series. I loved how in the end it was Simon who ultimately had to save the day. I think out of all the characters, he has grown the most. For Jace, Isabelle, Alec, and even Magnus, their character development revolved around breaking down the barriers that each character put up for their own protection and Clary’s development revolved around her coming to terms with the person she was meant to be. Simon’s was so drastically different. He went from being ordinary to being extraordinary in a way that none of the other characters could have done. He went from being the ordinary guy that was the easy target to pick on because what was even special about him? Simon has such a strong heart and I’m glad that he only got stronger the more strange things that happened to him and of course now I have to read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy because I can’t let his story end where it did (it is one of the most amazing sacrificial moments and I’m not going to ruin the fun for you). There are just so many wonderful moments full of love and heart between each of the characters that’s it’s hard to believe that at one point they weren’t all friends. Like any happily ever after, everything works out for the best, but unfortunately everybody had to lose somebody because what’s a war without loss? I’m excited to see the aftermath in The Dark Artifices and hope that Tessa and Jem play as big a part in it as the epilogue implies!

8 thoughts on “City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Let's Discuss!

