Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

IMG_7402RATING: 4.5/5

SYNOPSIS: Alina and Mal return to the capital along with new friends Tolya, Tamar, and Sturmhond and start to unite the Ravkan and Grisha armies against the Darkling and his followers.

PREVIOUS: The Witch of Duva  Shadow and Bone  The Tailor

I don’t think I’ve read a book where the last few chapters were that intense since Divergent! The last line of the book gave me chills and made me so excited to read Ruin and Rising but alas I do not have that book yet! First I want to talk about the new additions to Team Alina, Tolya, Tamar, and Sturmhond (that’s not his real name but I’m not going to ruin the surprise). Tolya and Tamar are twin Grisha that never were sent to the Darkling which is really cool because they don’t rely on their powers as much as the other Grisha and they are just a fierce. Even though they did lie to Alina and Mal I do believe that they have her best interests at heart as opposed to the Darkling. There is also some mystery to them that you don’t mind because they’re so awesome although I’m sure that answers will come in the finale. I’m really excited to see how they develops in Ruin and Rising (even though I’m scared for them because writers tend to love separating twins!). Sturmhond reminds me of Finnick Odair from The Hunger Games Trilogy because both have that easy going, smooth attitude and confidence that masks how lonely they are on the inside. I also love how he wants to be helpful and is able to find ways to do so (whereas Mal has a hard time figuring out who he is supposed to be besides a soldier). Sturmhond is also able to quickly adapt his personality to reflect the people he needs to win over and I know that seems like an untrustworthy characteristic, I do feel like he will be a big support for Alina in the coming revolution and I think that he still has some secrets left to reveal. Unfortunately Genya wasn’t a big player in this book, but I do worry about her and hope that her and David can have some sort of happily ever after. The only thing that bummed me out was how Mal and Alina were basically in a fight for the whole book. I understood where both of them were coming from, but it was frustrating because it was a lack  of communication on both of their parts that kept them from making up! I eagerly await finding out how Alina will end the Darkling’s reign of terror and hope Ruin and Rising is as intense and complex as it is gearing up to be!

Let's Discuss!

