Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

51cK844WshL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_RATING: 3.5/5

SYNOPSIS: Harper Jane Price has the perfect life, but when a janitor passes on powers that turn her into paladin and a mission to protect her arch-nemesis, David Stark, her whole life turns upside down as she tries to find a balance.

I must admit that I had too high expectations for this book. I wanted a southern belle Buffy the Vampire Slayer or maybe even Kim Possible (honestly I think more superheroine things need to be like that show because she had the perfect balance of school and saving the world) and that isn’t what I got. There were also quite a few really disappointing events that happened in the first couple of chapters that made it hard for me to like some of the main characters and I tried to get over it, but I couldn’t. It did have a lot of potential and there were some details that I thought would have bigger importance (and it would have been cool if they did) than what actually was the case. I also didn’t see the point of Harper having a boyfriend only to get a new love interest. You can make the argument that it showcased how perfect her life was before she had to answer to a higher calling, but having a boyfriend shouldn’t really be an important factor in a perfect life. I feel like the novel would have benefited in more epic fight scenes and less love triangly no-I-don’t-have-feelings-for-David-Stark moments. Just once I would like for there to be something about a girl who has to protect a guy without any romance. I felt like it really slowed down the book and I wanted to skip over those parts. I also wish that they had gone deeper into the lore of the oracle and paladin relationships because that sounded really cool and unique, but maybe that comes up in later books. Although I do appreciate having the butt-kicking hero of the story be a girly girl. Often times in books the action hero girl is “not like other girls” and doesn’t want to wear dresses or makeup and its nice to see a girl who can save the day, but also do it in heels and lipstick. It also didn’t hurt that Harper didn’t have to sacrifice her brains for her beauty and could be fashionable and smart because that’s another characterization type I can’t stand in books. The premise was fun and unique and the new team line-up at the end was fun, but I just felt dissatisfied by it all. I think that if you’re looking for a quick summer read that has everything at face value then this is the perfect book for that.

Let's Discuss!

