Audrey and Bill: A Romantic Biography of Audrey Hepburn and William Holden by Edward Z. Epstein

IMG_7221RATING: 4.5/5

SYNOPSIS: A look into the intertwining biographies of Audrey Hepburn and William Holden.

The best way to describe this book would be that it is two separate biographies of William Holden and Audrey Hepburn which places emphasis on how their lives intersected and moved apart. It is also not so much about them as it is about their other romantic relationships throughout their lives. Now I adore Audrey Hepburn, so of course I really enjoyed this book there was enough new things about her that I learned that really made it worth while for me to read. Unlike most biographies, this one focused more on her personal life and the ups and downs within rather than an overview of her filmography and charity work with UNICEF like most do (although there is mention of it). The only thing this book lacked was more information on William Holden. I’d say that the split between Hepburn biography and Holden biography was about 60/40 and I would have liked some more information about him. I don’t know if it’s because his personal life was slightly harder to get information on than Hepburn’s or if it was the fact that as Hepburn’s star was rising, Holden’s was starting to fall regardless there wasn’t a complete even split regarding the two biographies. I felt like the narrative was neutral, concise, and informative (the way newspaper writing should be) and I liked that I was presented the facts without the author’s opinion coloring how I viewed these two wonderful actors and people. This book pointed out aspects of Hepburn’s career that I knew about as well as providing me with information that I must have noticed at the back of my mind and brought it to the forefront for me to think about. Overall this was a highly informative book and I highly recommend it to people who love Audrey Hepburn or to people that love the Golden Age of Hollywood.

Let's Discuss!

