Bossypants by Tina Fey

IMG_7209RATING: 4/5

SYNOPSIS: A collection of essays by Tina Fey that feature anecdotes and lessons that she has learned by living and being a woman working in the male dominated field of television writing.

I’m not going to lie I’ve never read an autobiography before, so I wasn’t sure of what to expect, but it definitely wasn’t what I thought it would be. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the book although I’m sure I would have liked it better if I had listened to the audiobook with Tina Fey telling me about her life and the things she has learned. Although even without her voice telling me the stories, Fey’s voice is very clear in her writing. It was fun to see pictures of her when she was younger and to gain insight into the events in her life that helped shape her into the woman that she is today. After reading the book I feel like some things about her personality are clearer now that I know a little more about her background and it was interesting to see how certain things people say to her (especially about her scar) let her know what kind of person they are. The type of thing goes through my head only in respect to how long it takes for someone to learn how to spell my name correctly and how to pronounce my last name correctly. To me the most beneficial chapters were the ones where she talks about working on SNL and 30 Rock because she was talking about writing sketches and for television and that information is important to me as a playwriting/dramaturgy major. I don’t think that this book is for everyone. If I didn’t already like Tina Fey I probably never would have picked this book up and that not because it sounded like a bad book, but because I would have had no interest in finding out more about Tina Fey as a person. I think the two requirements for reading this book are that you have to like Tina Fey and/or you have to be on the track toward writing (or performing) in theatre, film, and/or television.

One thought on “Bossypants by Tina Fey

Let's Discuss!

